DPCC holds massive demonstration at Jantar Mantar to protest against the budget

Shri ajay makan ji Sat, 03 Sep 2016

DPCC holds massive demonstration at Jantar Mantar to protest against the budget

New Delhi: Thousands of Congress workers, under the leadership of Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee president Shri Ajay Maken, held a massive demonstration at Jantar Mantar on 7th March, 2016 to protest against the proposal in the Union Budget by the BJPled Central Government to tax 60 per cent of the Employees’ Provident Fund, and demanded its immediate roll back. Addressing the gathering, Shri Ajay Maken said the move to tax the EPF was a terrible blow to six crore employees and their families across the country, covered under the Employees’ Provident Fund Act, as the BJP-led Central Government was playing with their future. He said the Union Budget was anti-poor and anti-workers as it was aimed to help big industrialists.

Shri Maken warned that if the tax on EFP was not rolled back, the Congress workers will go to each and every nook and corner of Delhi to protest against taxing the EFP.

The demonstrators, carrying placards and shouting slogans against the Modi Government, also burned an effigy of Prime Minister Narendra Modi as the police put up barricades and stopped the demonstrators as they proceeded towards Parliament House. The placards carried slogans such as “Fund Hamara, Tax Tumara, Nahi Chalega, Nahi Chalega”, “Modi EPF Tax Vapas Lo, Vapas Lo”, “Kar Choron Ko Fair and Lovely, Provident Fund pe Dakaa” etc.

Prominent among those who participated in the demonstration, besides Shri Ajay Maken, were ex-MPs Shri Ramesh Kumar and Shri Mahabal Mishra, Shri I.A. Siddiqui Shri Naseeb Singh, former Delhi Ministers Dr. Yoganand Shastri, Dr. Narendra Nath, Dr. Kiran Walia, Leader of the Opposition in the East MCD Smt. Varyam Kaur, ex-MLAs Bisham Sharma, Smt. Barkha Singh, Kunwar Karan Singh, Anil Bhardwaj, Devendra Yadav, Tarwinder Singh Marwah and Surendra Pal Singh Bittoo, Shri Chattar Singh, Bhram Yadav, Jagjeevan Sharma, Delhi Seva Dal chief organizer Dineshwar Tyagi, District president Laxman Rawat, Pradeep Sharma, Madan Khorwal, Virendra Kasana, Mohd. Usman, Indrajith, Dr. Naresh Kumar, Tasvir Solanki and Advocate Sunil Kumar.